Andalucian Gazpacho

gazpacho-andaluz

I know that there are technically twenty some days left until summer, but I am getting ready. I’ve got my new sun vitamins(the lady at the pharmacy looked shocked when I put them on the counter with the weather we’ve been having here…), I have been getting out and jogging again (so hard to get out and do it with this rain!), and I’ve made our first batch of gazpacho! The taste of summer and sunshine and Spain. Now, I’m not one to brag, but I have to admit I’ve become pretty good at making gazpacho; my recipe tastes just as good as I remember Senora Rosario’s when I was living in Sevilla. So, without further ado, here is an easy, delicious, fresh and healthy recipe to get ready you for summer.

Gazpacho Andaluz (adapted from Karlos Arguiñano)

Makes 700 grams/3 cups

  • Four very ripe tomatoes
  • Half a cucumber (peeled)
  • Half a red pepper (you can use a yellow or orange pepper too)
  • One clove of garlic (medium-sized)
  • A chunk of old bread
  • Olive Oil (about 1.5 tablespoons-add more for taste if needed)
  • Red Wine Vinegar (about one tablespoon-add more for taste if needed)
  • Salt (to taste)

Wash and cut all the veggies into big chunks. Put the veggies in the blender. Add vinegar and oil. Blend until smooth. Add bread and salt. Blend again (it should be a bit thick, not watery-add water if you want a lighter soup). Taste and season with salt and olive oil as needed. Chill in the refrigerator for at least an hour. Enjoy!

Serve with crusty bread and Spanish tortilla or charcuterie.

What are your favorite get into summer recipes?

Gazpacho

 

4 thoughts on “Andalucian Gazpacho

  1. Pingback: Links for le weekend | A Beautiful Journey

Share your thoughts!

