What to buy: Berlin

IMG_20130429_081539

Morning all! We spent a long weekend in Berlin in April to take advantage of some vacay time in France and meet up with my bestie, Laura, who was arriving in Europe for a two-week visit. Maybe it was because Laura and I were so busy catching up, or maybe it was because we were trying to see all that we could in three days, but somehow on the last evening while packing my suitcase I had a moment of regret thinking of few little things I’d seen along the way and wished I’d  picked up (alternate title for post- What I should have bought in Berlin). I like to think I’ll always be back to a city as great as Berlin, so as a reminder for my next more relaxed trip here are a few of the gems that I saw…

1. Frau Tonis Perfume- Berlin’s most beautiful perfumerie. We walked past unexpectedly while making our way to Checkpoint Charlie and hunting for a last-minute lunchtime special menu at 4 pm…so we didn’t have a chance to go in. But, I was immediately drawn to the beautiful windows displaying the simple, graphic bottles on a white background. As we walked past I peeked inside and was impressed by the minimal decor and glass bottles lined up offering a breath of each fragrance. I noticed the prices weren’t too bad and made a mental note of where this place was to go back. Of course, we didn’t make it back. It turns out this is the famous place where Marlene Dietrich bought her trademark Violette perfume, and you can have an original scent created just for you. I could have spent hours here! Add it to your Berlin to-do list and give yourself some time to create an original scent.

A small bottle 15 mL bottle costs 28 euros, or go for the 50 mL for 58 euros. Both will fit in your carry-on! *If you can’t make it to Berlin check out the fragrances and buy some online.

wrap

2. Empty Books Berlin– Beautiful handmade leather stationery supplies. I did pick up a pretty pencil-case that reminds me so much of the clutch above, but I wish I would have picked up on of the lovely leather-bound journals too. Bright or neutral colors, some are refillable, and initials or a simple phrase can be inscribed on your on the spot, the beautiful supple leather would have made a perfect yearly agenda or could have become a place to keep track of all my travel ideas. I found the kiosk at Hackescher Markt on a Sunday, but you can also get in touch via the Empty Books website.

A small notebook costs between 20-30 euros.

designall-eggs

3. Original Vintage prints – market just off Museum Island next to the Bode museum. Laura picked up a pretty underwater biology print here, such a perfect non-souvenir reminder of a beautiful trip. They came matted and ready to frame. We found some cute mushrooms, bikes, and natural scenes that would look super chic on any gallery wall. With the vocabulary printed in German, it is a nonchalant souvenir.

Prints start at just over 10 euros.

BS-Kirsh

4.Kirsh Cherry liqueur. I spotted the most delicate little bottles of liqueurs at a handmade paper shop in Kreuzberg. With long necks and pastel and gold labels, the bottles make another original souvenir to display and enjoy at home. If only I’d have bought that notebook from Empty Books, maybe then I would remember the name of the shop and the liqueurs! In any case the shop is just before you get to the canal on Manteuffelstrabe.

Any other gems you’d recommend from Berlin?

2 thoughts on “What to buy: Berlin

  1. Pingback: Foutas | A Beautiful Journey

Share your thoughts!

