Inspired by: Día de los Muertos

It’s almost Halloween, but I have to admit my heart skips a beat for the Mexican holiday, Día de los Muertos. All those colors, the sweet little sugar skulls, and taking time to remember the ones we love who have passed. Although I never got to celebrate in Mexico, I thought I’d bring some Día de los Muertos to the Halloween celebrations this year!

frida-carnaval-09

My favorite costume: Frida. 

These colorful and clever office supply pumpkins from a subtle revelry remind me of papel picado dancing in the warm Mexican wind. 

For dinner, a warm and healthy Pumpkin Pozole is perfect.

And, these beautiful calavera sugar cookies from Etsy or churros with creamy hot chocolate from moewilicious make the perfect sweet ending.

Finally, top if off with a spicy tamarindo tequila cocktail from HonestlyYUM.

If you are in the Chicago area this is a great time to visit the National Museum of Mexican Art where they are celebrating 100 years of Posada y su Catrina. Read more about Mexico’s delicious culture and get some recipes at Saveur.

How will you be celebrating Halloween this year?

Besos, Dianne

3 thoughts on “Inspired by: Día de los Muertos

  1. I love Día de los Muertos SO much! As an art teacher back in the states, I had way too much fun teaching my kids about the celebration and making sugar skulls and various other colorful crafts. This makes me miss it! Wonderful pictures. Thanks for getting me even more in the spirit (this is one of my favorite times of the year)! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Links for le Weekend | A Beautiful Journey

Share your thoughts!

