Little (beauty) Luxuries from the French Pharmacy

   One thing I’ve come to love about French culture is the respect they have for aging gracefully. While I’m sure there are many women who do go under the knife, most of the women I see on a daily basis at work are not afraid to say their age and have the lines of life on their faces to prove it; the lines add grace to their simple style and attitude toward life. While they are not afraid to age, I’m guessing they also aren’t afraid to spend a pretty penny on the hundreds of products they can pick up to indulge themselves with in the French pharmacy. There’s no miracle to aging, except joy, sleep, and some special care, so inspired by GP’s list, and tried and tested by yours truly, here are a few of my (affordable) favorites from the French pharmacy.

1. Savon de Marseille: A block of natural soap from Marseille is simple and natural. My mom and I carried a bag of 10 bars of this soap around Italy for a week after our stop in the south of France this summer, and it was totally worth it. Or,the uber stylish bottles of liquid soap look oh so pretty in a kitchen or bathroom and they all smell so good-but you’ll have to go to a store for these the eastiest bet is at Gallery Lafayette.

2. Dry Oil:  by Nuxe or Lierac. OIL? Yes, oil. Where have you been all my life? Contrary to what I though, this dry oil absorbs quickly (I use it before I dry off from the shower) and leaves my skin soft and smelling like summer. I use it on my face (yes!), body, and hair (really!) year round. For 20 euros a bottle, mine has lasted more than 6 months. A little goes a long way. Nuxe also makes face cleanser and moisturizer too. I love Aroma-Perfection purifying cleansing gel to wash my face before bed.

3. Roger and Gallet-soap, oil, perfume or lotion-such pretty packaging and smells. The scents last all day and not only smell good but offer the benefits of aromatherapy too! I love Ginger, Orange Blossom, Lemon and Cedar, and the new Fig scent.

4. Uraige– Hyseac Mat pore minimizer- I tried this as a teeny sample and made it last as long as possible after seeing the results. A little dab leaves your skin perfectly primed and your pores invisible for the day.

5. Bioderma -Anything! I love everything I’ve tried from this brand- tinted sunscreen, daily body cream, face cleaner to lip moisturizer. Easy on the skin and the wallet.

6. Avene – Anything!  The first time I used Avene thermal water was on a tour bus in Spain with 10 high schoolers who my friend and I were chaperoning around the Iberian Peninsula for ten days. Our local guide was a cool girl who was reading Kerouac, using blue Dior eyeliner, and cooling off with Avene spray. Nothing like some French thermal spring water to calm you down on a crazy day with teenagers. I try to keep a little bottle in my bag at all times-its the perfect skin pick me up after a long day at work. I also love their daily moisturizer and just recently discovered the Avene soothing moisturising mask-a creamy mask that soaks into your skin in about 10 minutes and leaves you soft and moisturized.

7. Caudelie: Living in wine country it makes sense to use wine products on the skin too. Hand cream, face moisturizer or grape seed scrub. They smell wonderful and feel great on your skin.

8. Dermophile Indien: I saw that Garance Dore had this on her list from the pharmacy. I picked as stick up the other day and have to agree with her. A simple utilitarian look, no fuss, no frills, but it leaves your lips super soft for 3.50 euros.

Any products you’d add? 

13 thoughts on “Little (beauty) Luxuries from the French Pharmacy

  1. Pingback: Avene Skin Care Travel Kit Giveaway @ Beauty Expression By Luchessa | The Nail Art and Beauty Diaries

  2. Pingback: French Pharmacy Favorites | A Beautiful Journey

Share your thoughts!